asebobirthday.blogg.se

The incredible mr. limpet
The incredible mr. limpet





the incredible mr. limpet

I'm beginning to get a little fascinated with these American family classics, because they hold a real glimpse into that different age and what America was at the time. They don't resonate with me like they do to Americans because I didn't grow up with them, but they have a charm to them that comes from a different age and is more than a little welcome. I'd already seen him in Cannonball Run II but he was hardly the biggest name in that film, but eventually I saw Pleasantville and It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World and The Apple Dumpling Gang and with each one, I'm intrigued to discover more of these American favourites. He made 25 feature films, three of them (along with much of this movie) as a voice actor. I hadn't seen it before because we didn't get The Andy Griffith Show in England and his other long running show, Three's Company, was an American version of one of ours anyway, Man About the House.

the incredible mr. limpet

I think the first time I saw him was in his famous role of Barney Fife while travelling the States in 1999. There are many household names in America whose reputations didn't travel beyond the country's borders, just as there are many names I grew up watching in England who Americans have never heard of. A personal favourite of my wife, who insisted I record it, this one features Don Knotts, who I'm fast discovering was one of the great American comedians.







The incredible mr. limpet